Thursday, April 10, 2008

European Champions League 2008: Last Men Standing

This season has been so beautiful for English football and even if an English team fails to win the Champions league which is unlikely the game certainly has benefited enormously this year. Incidentally three English teams made it to the last four (and that is something i know doesn't happen very often) in the same year England has failed to make it to Euro Cup. Maybe this is now well compensated for.


This year, of the four coaches whose team scaled the hurdles to move to the semis, three have savour the feeling of winning it in the past except one. Among Fank Rijkaard, Alex Ferguson, Avram Grant and Rafa Benitez, only Grant is the new comer and whether this will decide who finally goes away with Europe's most prestigious cup championship is yet to be see.

Rijkaard has won it both as a player and a coach. Rafa Benitez has won it once with Liverpool and has been three semi Finals in the last four years.

grant rafa

Alex Ferguson did it in the treble year more than 15 years ago. In current form Rafa Benitez will appear to be above the rest. However, even Avram who is the least experienced could prove to be a difficult nut to crack.

He's got a crack team who have rediscovered their killer instinct just at the right time and in current form across Europe one can not afford not to rate them as among the best three.

Which of this men does this year belong to?

No comments:

Related topics you may be Interested in

Blog Widget by LinkWithin